First time marathon runner raises over £2000 for CAFOD

A parishioner from Putney, Giorgio Delapino, has raised over £2000 for CAFOD by running his first ever marathon in London, an amazing amount and fantastic achievement!

Giorgio marathon 3

Giorgio victorious post marathon

Giorgio said:

“I have been applying to the draw for 8 years but haven’t got lucky until this year. I decided to run it a long time ago (when I was fitter!). I saw a man who must have been eighty crossing the line so I thought that if he could do it, I could as well.

“Fast forward eight years and I am still not eighty so there was no excuse not to finish!  It went very well and was a great experience.  It was great to hear people calling my name, especially as it’s Italian!”

All of us here in Southwark would like to thank Giorgio for his amazing efforts to raise money for those in need, and to all of those who have supported him by donating.  We’re very grateful you ran your first marathon for CAFOD and hope it was worth the eight year wait!

Leave a Reply

